Meyer stands by S. Africa side for USA clash

Meyer stands by S. Africa side for USA clash

London (AFP) – South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer stuck with the bulk of his side for their final World Cup Pool B match against the United States at London's Olympic Stadium on Wednesday.

Meyer made just two,injury-enforced changes, to the team that beat Scotland 34-16 in Newcastle last weekend.

Lwazi Mvovo takes over from JP Pietersen, with Bryan Habana moving across to the right wing.

p>In the pack, prop Frans Malherbe replaces Jannie du Plessis.

Pietersen & du Plessis have knee injuries.

Lock Victor Matfield remains sidelined with a hamstring injury that kept him out of the Scotland game.

View gallery

South Africa's hooker Bismarck Du Plessis (L) & wing Bryan Habana attend a training session at …

Replacement scrum-half Rudy Paige could make his Springbok & World Cup debut if he comes off the bench.

The 1995 & 2007 world champions have bounced back from their shock 34-32 loss to Japan in their opening group game with wins over Samoa (46-6) & Scotland.

The Springboks now top their group & are on course for a quarter-final with the losers of this weekend's Pool A match between Australia & Wales.

South Africa will be up against a much-changed US side yet Meyer said he was taking nothing for granted.

"Wednesday’s match against a much-improved USA team is a must-win for us if we want to progress to the quarter-finals which is one of the reasons why we decided to go with continuity,” Meyer said Monday at the team hotel.

"We moreover have a number of players who returned to action from injuries recently & it’s significant to donate them game-time against an opponent who will physically challenge us this week."

Meyer added: "The performances against Samoa & Scotland were satisfactory, yet we will have to make another step up against the USA.”

South Africa (15-1)

Willie le Roux; Bryan Habana, Jesse Kriel, Damien de Allende, Lwazi Mvovo; Handre Pollard, Fourie du Preez (capt); Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Francois Louw; Lodewyk de Jager, Eben Etzebeth; Frans Malherbe, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: Schalk Brits, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Willem Alberts, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Jan Serfontein

Coach: Heyneke Meyer (RSA)

Sports & RecreationHeyneke MeyerBryan HabanaLwazi MvovoSouth AfricaScotlandFrans Malherbe

Source: “AFP”

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS